Other British posts in India

» Goa

» Kolkata

» Mumbai

» New Delhi

British embassies in nearby countries

» Afghanistan

» Bangladesh

» Nepal

» Pakistan

» Sri Lanka

British embassies worldwide

Other embassies and consulates in Chennai

British flag Consulate-General of the United Kingdom in Chennai

Address20 Anderson Road
Chennai 600 006
Phonelocal: (044) 4219.2151
international: +91.44.4219.2151
Faxlocal: (044) 4219.2322
international: +91.44.4219.2322
Web sitehttp://ukinindia.fco.gov.uk
NotesBeware of emailed job offers for childcare and other similar positions in the UK. These are all frauds.

• Since November 2008, no visas are granted for household workers from outside Europe. Work visas are only granted for highly-skilled positions, most of which require university degrees.

• No legitimate employment agency in the UK requires you to pay them any money. All fees would be paid by the employer.

• No legitimate employment agency in the UK uses a free email address from Yahoo, Gmail, or similar services.

• No legitimate employment agency in the UK uses a telephone number that begins with +4470 (070). These are non-geographic numbers available to anyone in the world.

• No legitimate business requests payment via Western Union.

» Can I visit the United Kingdom without a visa?

Comments on this Consulate-General

Showing comments 181–190 of 766, newest first.
<< < 1 2 3 ... 17 18 19 20 21 ... 75 76 77 > >>
Tue, 28 Jul 2015 08:12 EDT
My husband is a British Citizen, stuck in Kerala with a turistic visa expired two yeas ago. What are the legal procedures to be able to leave India?
Anyone can advise?

Tue, 14 Jul 2015 06:21 EDT
Queen Groups,Hotel George Edinburg, TAJ HOTEL and Abbott Risk are all fake job scams!
Queen Groups,Hotel George Edinburgh, TAJ HOTEL and Abbott Risk are all fake job scams! Read www.scam-job-emails.tk
Sun, 12 Jul 2015 14:16 EDT
Job offer Queen Groups 2000 hammersmith Road London, W6 7DL United Kingdom.
I got email and Job offer from below address
Is it real?? Please help?
salary given monthly is 7800 GBP

Address: 2000 Hammersmith Road London, W6
7DL United Kingdom. Tel: +441618840991 -
+18478689990 …. Email: info@queengroup.org
Fri, 10 Jul 2015 02:39 EDT
Job offer in Hotel George Edinburg
Please confirm the reality of this letter is it Genuine, Shall pay the Visa Charges to Proceed.
I have received appointment letter and Visa application. And Phone calls related to the appointment at The George Hotel, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

We are pleased to inform you that after the company shortlisting of candidates and final screening exercise, the management of The George Hotel Edinburgh, United Kingdom hereby appoint you as an employee of The George Hotel Edinburgh, United Kingdom.

You are inform to find attached to this mail, your employment letter, the employment letter also contain the terms and condition of your employment with The George Hotel. do kindly go through the employment letter carefully and understand before accepting the offer. If it is okay by you, duly sign, scan and send back to us within a period of Three (3) working days, if we do not receive within the specified period, we will claim that the offer is not accepted by you and will be terminated without your consent.

To ensure that your visa is processed within a short period, we have appointed an Immigration officer (\UK Border Agency), in British High Commission, India to process your Visa, in person of Mrs. Anugraha Laxmi, her contact details are as follows: email (immigrationservices.anugrahal@gmail.com) and Tel:+919873963428.

Please, do Co-ordinate with her to avoid delay in your Visa processing. If you have further queries on the offer of employment, do not hesitate to contact us: +448719153039, or mail us:(hrd@georgehoteledinburgh.co.uk)

Congratulations, and we look forward to see you as one of our productive team in The George Hotel, United Kingdom.

Best Regards

Mr. Ashton Evan
Human Resource Manager
The George Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Wed, 8 Jul 2015 04:35 EDT
enquiry about visa
Dear Sir,
My name is siva. I am a citizen of India. May I get 3 months tourist visa of united kingdom? I am not a business person, but I would like to go to united kingdom, so may I get 3 month visa?
solomon odeh.
Wed, 1 Jul 2015 05:32 EDT
Abbott Risk Just Offered me a Job as Operation Manager.....
Abbott Risk Uk just sent me an Offer letter for the position of Operation Manager which i know is fake i just have to find out from abbott themselves and got to know that alot of people had been scammed also calling ..funny in life of social medials and networks i wonder how they still believe people will fall cheap for them.
Mon, 22 Jun 2015 23:37 EDT
EMF for Expatriate Compliance Certificate
Dear Madam/Sir,
I have received an e-mail from qatarairwaysuk@qq.com (Mr. Jimmy Robinson, Human Resource Director, Qatar Airways United Kingdom, Tel: +44 701 421 1628) which says that I was chosen to handle the post HSE Manager through Naukri.com. However, to finally qualify for the post, he is requiring me to pay for the EMF (1,150 GBP) to UK BORDER AGENCY OFFICE to start the process of obtaining the Expatriate Compliance Certificate.
Is this really the usual procedure knowing that Qatar Airways is the employer/sponsor and the one providing the upfront payment prior to departure by the applicant who is seeking employment abroad due to inadequacy in terms of financial resources although very much competent to provide service in return.
Could you kindly advise me as to the authenticity of this procedure and contact person.

Thanks & Regards,
Mon, 22 Jun 2015 04:16 EDT
Hi Mohamed rabeek, I too got the job offer in the same job id QA/L-UK/HR/297/15 for safety manager position. So probably it must be a fraudulent email.
Mon, 22 Jun 2015 04:04 EDT
job offer from qatar airways UK - Fake or what??
Contact Person: Mike Gleenson
Public Enquiry Office
Lunar House 40 Wellesley Road
Croydon CR9 2BY United Kingdom
Tel: +447014213839
Email: ecc.ukba.gov@homemail.com
FAX: (+44) 844-7-7943
Fri, 19 Jun 2015 22:11 EDT
I am M.N.Balasubramanian my Ph.: 91-9500091855
Please conform the reality of this letter is it Genuine, Shall pay the Visa Charges to Proceed.
I have received appointment letter and Visa application. And Phone calls related to the appointment.
+448712343319, +91 9930 229084
Dear Visa Applicant,

This is Diploma Mr. Anderson, working with British High Commission in India and the authorized agent in Asia for ST JAMES COURT HOTEL UNITED KINGDOM: I receive a confirmation from London that I should start your visa processing and your work-permit.
Here is the procedure for your visa processing; I also receive a copy of your appointment letter from the management, now you have to send me your {INTERNATIONAL PASSPORT BOTH THE FRONT AND THE BACK PAGE WITH 1 PASSPORT PHOTOGRAPH & ANY OF YOUR ID PROOF SCAN COPY.
Am applying your visa on (None appearance) because you employee, when your visa is been issue. Your call up letter we be issue and send to you and you are going to be invited to come to British Embassy.
After the payment of registration fees, your 2years work-permit visa will be out after 8 working days, when your visa is ready I we scan the copy to you, then you are going to come to me with your original passport for visa stamping and take your finger print.
your visa fees charges amounted is { 320British Pounds is 33,600 rupees} i am sending you the account details that in-charge of visa processing, which you are going to deposit the money, as soon as you deposit the money make sure you send the PAYMENT SLIP so that we can proceed as well.
More also, I we forward the copy to London, to enable the management to send your flight ticket immediately if your visa is ready, so that I can handover everything to you the same day.
Look forward to hearing from you accordingly.
Best Regard
Anderson Evans

Post a comment on this page

We invite you to share your experiences with the British Consulate-General — obtaining visas and other services, locating the building, and so on. Your comments may be seen by the public, so please do not include private information.

Your name
Your message
Max 2000 characters

This web site is not operated by the Consulate-General and your comments and questions will not necessarily be seen by its staff. Please note that this is not a forum for broad debate about the foreign policy of the United Kingdom, and such topics will be deleted.