Other British posts in Malaysia

» Kota Kinabalu

» Kuching

» Langkawi

» Miri

» Penang

British embassies in nearby countries

» Brunei

» Burma (Myanmar)

» Cambodia

» Indonesia

» Philippines

» Singapore

» Thailand

» Vietnam

British embassies worldwide

Other embassies and consulates in Kuala Lumpur

British flag High Commission of the United Kingdom in Kuala Lumpur

Address185 Jalan Ampang
50450 Kuala Lumpur
Phonelocal: (03) 2170.2200
international: +60.3.2170.2200
Faxlocal: (03) 2170.2370
international: +60.3.2170.2370
Web sitehttp://ukinmalaysia.fco.gov.uk/en/

Have you been having conversations online with someone you've never met before who claims to live in the UK? Has he told you that he will come to visit you in Malaysia? And now is he frantically contacting you because he are being held at the airport, and needs you to pay a fine so he can be freed?

It is a scam. There is no romance, and there is nobody being detained at KLIA. The same person who was chatting online with you was also chatting online with many other victims. They are trying to trick you into sending money to an accomplice. Once you have sent the money they will disappear forever. Every year these scammers bilk unsuspecting victims out of thousands of ringgit. Don't be one of them.

» Can I visit the United Kingdom without a visa?

Comments on this High Commission

Showing comments 141–150 of 2960, newest first.
<< < 1 2 3 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 294 295 296 > >>
Fri, 12 Sep 2014 21:28 EDT
Your British guy is Nigerian sctudent in Mlaysia. Just ask him some common facts and you will see.
I lost 50 000 USD to that evil.
Thu, 11 Sep 2014 20:29 EDT
Rachel - that is a SCAM
Rachel, that is clearly a SCAM. Stop talking to him, block him on your email, your phone.

If you continue talking to him, he will continue asking for money. He will also ask for your intimate pictures. When you don't have money to give him anymore, he will threaten to blackmail you. That is their operations.

Stop, stop, stop talking to this scammer before he hurts you more than you can possibly imagine.

If you have his bank information, his email address, report him to Royal Malaysian Police (google the email address). Report to the bank (go to Mona Lisa post on 12/8/14 for instruction) and report to Romancescam.com.
Thu, 11 Sep 2014 05:52 EDT
Hi guys could you help me,because I was chatting with a British man name jerry Larson,and he ask me to tke me out of here in Abu Dhabi .he said that he go to the embassy in Ireland and he deposit 55k pound just to assure he can taking care of me and after my visa are ready and i go there in Ireland the embassy will refund the money that he deposit ,he said that after my visa are he will pay me back,he gave me the barrister name Bart ferguson was now in Malaysia he ask me to pay 1050 US dollar for my visa,i paid already 700 is dollar ,and I don't hve money to pay my balance i ask my fiancé name jerry to help me but he said he can help me only until my visa is ready,i was just thinking maybe this only scam,,,could you help me guys thank u
Mon, 8 Sep 2014 20:13 EDT
Ami Coy
Please contact the administrator of RomanceScam.com. They have info on china banks. not a lot, but some info.
Ami Coy
Sun, 7 Sep 2014 22:16 EDT
Scammed - money wired through China
I was scammed a few months ago by what I now know was a Nigerian "expert romance scammer", working out of KL, Malaysia during 12/2013 through 05/2014. I did not know about "scamming" so I fell for it and sent money. Has anyone every sent money through the Bank of Communications Offshore Banking Center in Shanghai, China? To an account holder named "Weiya International Co. Limited"? Any input regarding crossing country lines would be appreciated? Thanks
Thu, 4 Sep 2014 19:29 EDT
Please read Wanda's post. She mentioned about reporting to RomanceScam.com.

Also read Loretta's post (just keep scrolling the dates, you will find her post). She also mentioned about reporting to the police and more. Good luck!
Thu, 4 Sep 2014 15:04 EDT
Steve Brown at Tinder
Steve Brown from UK, going to Malaysia on saturday, got very cross today when I asked him if he was a scam. I asked him if he could send me a picture taken that moment, but he just sent me the ones he had on his profile on Tinder. He called me, and when I heard his accent I asked him if he really was English. He confirmed he was and tried to speak slower. He went on and on about me judging him, not accepting that he was a man looking for love etc...
I didn't Google the number before, but finding this site just confirms my doubts. I would never have sent him any money if he asked, something he never got around to do before I deleted him. Watch out!
Thu, 4 Sep 2014 00:01 EDT
i was scammed
BEWARE OF THIS SCAMMER WHO PRETENDS TO BE A COMPUTER ENGINEER (WIDOW) His profiles name is PERR RONNIE IN fACEBOOK BUT HIS REAL NAME IS RONALD PERR WILLIAMS. A national of United Kingdom trying to get U.S Citizenship living in Riverside California. Accepted a job in Malaysia and was intercepted by Immigration because he has to pay income taxes because he has a working visa which he claimed has expired and asking for money to pay for his hotel bills etc. and will deposit the payment to my account when he is paid by his employer when he file his claim here in the states. When I asked for proofs, to see him in SKYPE OR take a pictures on his phone and send it to me and a copy of his expired visa and a copy of the document of his claims, he never responded to me, instead UNFRIEND me in FB. His voice sound so young so I wonder who this guy in this picture really is.What a shame. They should be punished. Does anyone knows where we can file a complain regarding this matter? Ladies beware of this looks. best con artist ever. I found his profile on Badoo.com under the name of David Mark, same person on picture but older.
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 21:03 EDT
ami coy
RomanceScam does all types of scam. You need to register to view and private message (PM) the administrator for questions and guidance.

The authorities do not usually respond, but if you try to give them a call, they will probably give you the status.
Ami Coy
Thu, 28 Aug 2014 00:07 EDT
Do most scammers move a lot?
I am a woman from the US that was scammed very seriously during the first couple of months in 2014. I have been following this blog and many of you have shared very good information about what to do afterwards. Thanks!

I have reported the crime to many agencies and organizations from the US to Malaysia and added Nigeria. He said he was UK and US citizen and I am sure he is not. I have not heard back from anyone I reported the crime to???

I am still tracking him and have gotten some really great info. The "lad" accidently "butt called" me from a "cyber café" in Lagos Nigeria. I discovered he was an Igbo man speaking Ibo, and some Pidgin English. Interesting for a man that only speaks the Queens English - NOT! Luckily, I am creating resources daily and found a local Law Professor, schooled in Nigeria from the same tribe - got some great insights about the workings of these scammers.

Also, here is a new tool I found for tracking IP Addresses: http://www.iptrackeronline.com/index.php?ip_address=
I got great geo-locational info on a Yahoo email header. I was able to cross reference his IP address to Seri Kembangan, Selangor, Malaysia near the Mines area. The exact ping showed up for a Classic 419 Scammer also named Zouheir Hani Moussly (175,142,201,187) and my scammer (210, 195,116,113). Has anyone out there come across that name before? The guy that scammed me called himself "Dwayne" which I now know is a lie but the other name shows up when I do a Google search so I am guessing he is real? I feel very certain that the scam occurred while he was in Malaysia and before returning to Nigeria.

Do the romance scammers also do the 419 scams or are those "Lads" generally a different lot? Any input would be appreciated!

Post a comment on this page

We invite you to share your experiences with the British High Commission — obtaining visas and other services, locating the building, and so on. Your comments may be seen by the public, so please do not include private information.

Your name
Your message
Max 2000 characters

This web site is not operated by the High Commission and your comments and questions will not necessarily be seen by its staff. Please note that this is not a forum for broad debate about the foreign policy of the United Kingdom, and such topics will be deleted.